First Annual PSO Student Moot Competition

PSO Moot logo

The Paralegal Society of Ontario (PSO) hosted the 1st Annual PSO Intercollegiate Mooting Competition on Nov. 23-24 at Humber College – Lakeshore.

The case focused on Bedford v. Canada.

The teams from Centennial College were as follows:

  1. Jordana Varey and Marrissa Singh
  2. Derek Lai and Sabah Fatima
  3. Fatima Lam and Gilbert Ramirez
  4. Ritu Sharma and Andrea Samaroo

Fatima Lam won an award for the best written submission, and Andrea Samaroo and Sabah Fatima won awards for best advocates.

The teams of Derek Lai and Sabah Fatima, and Fatima Lam and Gilbert Ramirez, both advanced to the semi-finals. Derek Lai and Sabah Fatima then made it to the finals and won 2nd place.

Coaches for the Centennial teams were Omar Ha-Redeye and Michelle Pinto.

2013 Centennial College PSO Moot Team

The 2013 Centennial College PSO Moot team. Front Row, From Left: (Participants) Gilbert Ramirez, Sabah Fatima, Fatima Lam, Derek Lai, Ritu Sharma, Jordana Varey, Marrissa Singh. Back Row, From Left: (Coaches) Omar Ha-Redeye, Michelle Pinto.

Sabah Fatima and Derek Lai


See Slaw for details of the competition.